DSM-5 is now available in both print and online format! We’ve had the new DSM for a while now, but the online version is now included in our database “PsychiatryOnline.”Â
THE LONG LIST FOR THE 2011 INDEPENDENT BOOKSELLERS CHOICE AWARD:
Agaat by Marlene Van Niekerk Â (Tin House)
Aliss at the Fire by Jon Fosse Â (Dalkey Archive)
An Attempt at Exhausting a Place in Paris by Geroges Perec Â (Wakefield Press)
Asunder by Robert Lopez Â (Dzanc)
Black Minutes by Martin Solares Â (Grove/Atlantic)
Contingency Plan by David K Wheeler Â (TS Poetry)
Dolly City by Orly Castel-BloomÂ (Dalkey)
Firework by Eugene Marten (Tyrant Books)
Flyover State by Emma Straub Â (Flatmancrooked)
Forecast by Shya Scanlon Â (Flatmancrooked)
Grand Central Winter: Stories from the Street by Lee Stringer (Seven Stories Press)
Great House by Nicole Krauss (W.W. Norton)
I Just Lately Started Buying Wings by Kim Dana Kupperman (Graywolf Press)
Long, Last, Happy by Barry Hannah (Grove/Atlantic)
Lord of Misrule by Jaimy Gordon (McPherson)
Matterhorn by Karl Marlantes Â (Grove/Atlantic)
Museum of the Weird by Amelia Gray (FC2)
New Jim Crow by Michelle Alexander (New Press)
Nox by Anne Carson (New Directions)
Orion You Came and Took All My Marbles by Kira Henehan (Milkweed Editions)
Report by Jessica Francis Kane (Graywolf)
The Autobiography of Jenny X by Lisa Dierbeck (O/R Books)
The Black History of the White House by Clarence Lusane Â (City Lights)
The Debba by Avner Mandelman Â (Other Press)
The French Revolution by Matt Stewart (Soft Skull Press)
The Instructions by Adam Levin (McSweeneyâ€™s)
The Jokers by Albert Cossery (NYRB)
The Lonely Polygamist by Brady Udall (W.W. Norton)
The Museum of Eternaâ€™s Novel by Macedonio Fernandez (Open Letter)
The Orange Eats Creeps by Grace Krilanovich Â (Two Dollar Radio)
The Singerâ€™s Gun by Emily St. John Mandel (Unbridled)
The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi (Night Shade Books)
Under the Poppy by Kathe Koja (Small Beer Press)
Visitation by Jenny Erpenbeck (New Directions)
Who Was Changed and Who Was Dead by Barbara Comyns (Dorothy)
Wingshooters by Nina Revoyr (Akashic)
Hot, Flat, and Crowded: Why We Need a Green Revolution–and How It Can Renew America.
Friedman, Thomas L. author.
Hot, Flat and Crowded is a new book in the library by Three-time Pulitzer Prize winner Thomas Friedman. He mapped the level economic playing field created by digital technology and global free-market capitalism in The World Is Flat in 2005. He now adds two crucial elements to his analysis of the state of the world: climate change and the population explosion. Booklist says Friedman is lashing in his critique of Americaâ€™s failure to face energy and climate realities. Fluent in business, politics, and science, Friedman cogently explains the complex challenges we face, reminds us of our adaptability, and defines environmentalism as the key to peace and democracy. Expect to hear a lot about this book.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
I’m very excited to introduce to you a new database that may sound familiar, the Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center. If you’ve used some of our Contemporary Issue books in the library, you’ll be happy to see this electronic database of some of the titles you are familiar with. You can search for information on a wide variety of current topics–from AIDS to Iraq to gangs and more. You can search your topic or select one from their list of popular topics. You can narrow your search by content level and content type (academic journals, statistics, primary sources, viewpoints and more). The Viewpoints tab will find full-text articles from different perspectives on your favorite topics.
This is the perfect database to use for those persuasive, pro/con or argumentative essays or speeches! You can access Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center either in the library or on any internet connection (with your login and password). Try it, you’ll like it!
Check out our new resource: Global Reference Center [You will need to login in if you are accessing from off-campus]
This resource, essentially, provides an online version of the Encyclopedia Brittanica in 4 languages (Spanish, Japanese, Chinese (Simplified), and Traditional Chinese.