Tag Archives: Prize

Shortlist for Arabic fiction prize released

The 2012 shortlist for the International Arabic Fiction Prize has been released… which is worth $50,000 and an English translation and publication to the winning author.

The nominated books are:

The Unemployed by Nasser Iraq
Toy of Fire by Bashir Mufti
The Vagrant by Jabbour Douaihy
The Druze of Belgrade by Rabee Jaber
The Women of al-Basatin by Habib Selmi
Embrace on Brooklyn Bridge by Ezzedine Choukri Fishere

Shortlist for Arabic fiction prize released – The National.

2010 Giller Prize Longlist


The 2011 Scotiabank Giller Prize jury announced its longlist on Tuesday, September 6. This is the 18th year of the prize and a record-breaking number of books were submitted by publishers across the country, a total of 143. This year’s jury is made up of: award-winning Canadian writer and 2009 Giller finalist Annabel Lyon; American author, memoirist and Guggenheim fellow Howard Norman; and acclaimed UK playwright and prize-winning novelist Andrew O’Hagan.

For the first time ever, the Scotiabank Giller Prize invited the public to choose a book for the longlist. The Readers’ Choice contest received more than 4,000 entries from passionate readers arguing their case for a favourite book. The Readers’ Choice selection was Extensions by Myrna Day, a debut novel published by Newest Press.

Bezmozgis, David | The Free World
Blaise, Clark | The Meagre Tarmac
Christie, Michael | The Beggar’s Garden
Coady, Lynn | The Antagonist
deWitt, Patrick | The Sisters Brothers
Dey, Myrna | Extensions
Edugyan, Esi | Half-Blood Blues
Endicott, Marina | The Little Shadows
Gartner, Zsuzsi | Better Living Through Plastic Explosives
Gunn, Genni | Solitaria
Holdstock, Pauline | Into the Heart of the Country
Johnston, Wayne | A World Elsewhere
Laferrière, Dany (trans. David Homel) | The Return
Mayr, Suzette | Monoceros
Ondaatje, Michael | The Cat’s Table
Vanderhaeghe, Guy | A Good Man
Zentner, Alexi | Touch

2011 Giller Prize Longlist – Scotiabank Giller Prize.

And now for something completely different…

Here are the winners of the EU Prize for Literature announced at Frankfurt Book Fair, 2010:

Belgium: Peter Terrin, De Bewaker (The Guard)

Cyprus: Myrto Azina Chronides, To Peirama (The Experiment)

Denmark: Adda Djørup, Den mindste modstand (The least resistance)

Estonia: Tiit Aleksejev, Palveränd (The Pilgrimage)

Finland: Riku Korhonen , Lääkäriromaani (Doctor Novel)

Germany: Iris Hanika, Das Eigentliche (The Bottom Line)

Luxembourg: Jean Back, Amateur

Romania: Răzvan Rădulescu, Teodosie cel Mic (Theodosius the Small)

Slovenia: Nataša Kramberger, Nebesa v robidah: roman v zgodbah (Heaven in a blackberry bush: novel in stories)

Spain: Raquel Martínez-Gómez, Sombras de unicornio (Shadows of the unicorn)

Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia: Goce Smilevski, Сестрата на Зигмунд Фројд (Sigmund Freud’s sister)

The [EU Prize for Literature], supported through the EU Culture programme, aims to draw attention to new talents and to promote the publication of their books in different countries, as well as celebrating European cultural diversity.

So, please help yourself to some European literature.