March 2017 Book Display

Anniversary of when the Dalai Lama  was forced to flee Tibet

Tibetans suffered under China’s persecution of Buddhism and after years of scattered protest, a full-scale revolt broke out in 1959. The Dalai Lama was granted political asylum in India. He received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1989 for his commitment to the nonviolent liberation of his country. Come check out our collection on Tibet and the Dalai Lama

December Book Display


December Book Display – Think Snow?

There was lots of snow when the Antarctica Treaty was signed in December 1959 by 12 nations and it continues to “shine as a rare beacon of international cooperation”.  Antarctica Day was established in 2010 as a global initiative.  Come visit us at the Todd library and check out our collection centered on this vast continent down south.

A look at the news and events happening in the Libraries at Waubonsee Community College