Tag Archives: 2011

Locus Award finalists announced

Locus magazine has announced the finalists for this year’s Locus Award, a popular science fiction, fantasy and horror award voted on by the magazine’s readers.

Science Fiction Novel
* Surface Detail, Iain M. Banks (Orbit UK; Orbit US)
* Cryoburn, Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen)
* Zero History, William Gibson (Putnam; Viking UK)
* The Dervish House, Ian McDonald (Pyr; Gollancz)
* Blackout/All Clear, Connie Willis (Spectra)

Fantasy Novel
* Under Heaven, Guy Gavriel Kay (Penguin Canada; Roc)
* Kraken, China Miéville (Macmillan UK; Del Rey)
* Who Fears Death, Nnedi Okorafor (DAW)
* The Fuller Memorandum, Charles Stross (Ace; Orbit UK)
* The Sorcerer’s House, Gene Wolfe (Tor)

First Novel
* The Loving Dead, Amelia Beamer (Night Shade)
* The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit UK; Orbit US)
* Shades of Milk and Honey, Mary Robinette Kowal (Tor)
* The Quantum Thief, Hannu Rajaniemi (Gollancz; Tor)
* How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe, Charles Yu (Pantheon)

Young Adult Book
* Ship Breaker, Paolo Bacigalupi (Little, Brown)
* Mockingjay, Suzanne Collins (Scholastic)
* Enchanted Glass, Diana Wynne Jones (HarperCollins UK; Greenwillow)
* I Shall Wear Midnight, Terry Pratchett (Gollancz; HarperCollins)
* Behemoth, Scott Westerfeld (Simon Pulse; Simon & Schuster UK)

via Locus Award finalists announced – Boing Boing.

And the Finalists Are…..[Indie Booksellers Choice Award]



And the Finalists Are…..

The Black History of the White House by Clarence Lusane (City Lights)

Contingency Plan by David K Wheeler (TS Poetry)

The Instructions by Adam Levin (McSweeney’s)

The Lonely Polygamist by Brady Udall (W.W. Norton)

Matterhorn by Karl Marlantes (Grove/Atlantic)

Nox by Anne Carson (New Directions)

The Orange Eats Creeps by Grace Krilanovich (Two Dollar Radio)

Orion You Came and Took All My Marbles by Kira Henehan (Milkweed Editions)

The Report by Jessica Francis Kane (Graywolf)

The Singer’s Gun by Emily St. John Mandel (Unbridled)

Who Was Changed and Who Was Dead by Barbara Comyns (Dorothy)

The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi (Night Shade Books)

Wingshooters by Nina Revoyr (Akashic)

via And the Finalists Are…...

Best Translated Book Award Winners to Be Announced, via Full-Stop



The 2011 BTBA Fiction Finalists (in alphabetical order by author):

The Literary Conference by César Aira, translated from the Spanish by Katherine Silver (New Directions)

The Golden Age by Michal Ajvaz, translated from the Czech by Andrew Oakland (Dalkey Archive)

A Life on Paper by Georges-Olivier Châteaureynaud, translated from the French by Edward Gauvin (Small Beer)

The Jokers by Albert Cossery, translated from the French by Anna Moschovakis (New York Review Books)

Visitation by Jenny Erpenbeck, translated from the German by Susan Bernofsky (New Directions)

Hocus Bogus by Romain Gary (writing as Émile Ajar), translated from the French by David Bellos (Yale University Press)

The True Deceiver by Tove Jansson, translated from the Swedish by Thomas Teal (New York Review Books)

On Elegance While Sleeping by Emilio Lascano Tegui, translated from the Spanish by Idra Novey (Dalkey Archive)

Agaat by Marlene Van Niekerk, translated from the Afrikaans by Michiel Heyns (Tin House)

Georg Letham: Physician and Murderer by Ernst Weiss, translated from the German by Joel Rotenberg (Archipelago)

The 2011 BTBA Poetry Finalists (in alphabetical order by author):

Geometries by Guillevic, translated from the French by Richard Sieburth (Ugly Duckling Presse)

Time of Sky & Castles in the Air by Ayane Kawata, translated from the Japanese by Sawako Nakayasu (Litmus Press)

Child of Nature by Luljeta Lleshanaku, translated from the Albanian by Henry Israeli and Shpresa Qatipi (New Directions)

The Book of Things by Aleš Šteger, translated from the Slovenian by Brian Henry (BOA Editions)

Flash Cards by Yu Jian, translated from the Chinese by Wang Ping and Ron Padgett (Zephyr Press)


Best Translated Book Award Winners Announced Tomorrow | Full-Stop.net.

Orwell Prize Shortlist, 2011, announced…

The Orwell Prize shortlist has been released…

The nominees are:

Tom Bingham – The Rule of Law

Oliver Bullough – Let Our Fame Be Great: Journeys Among the Defiant People of the Caucasus

Helen Dunmore – The Betrayal

Christopher Hitchens – Hitch-22

Afsaneh Moqadam – Death to the Dictator!

D. R. Thorpe – Supermac: The Life of Harold MacMillan